India: Carving and Commanding Kabaddi since ages

Kabaddi is one of the contact-sports that originated in the Indian subcontinent. Four forms of kabaddi played in India are Amar, Suranjeevi, huttuttoo, and Gaminee. The basic rules were formulated and published in a formal manner in 1923. Kabaddi received international exposure during 1936 when the game was demonstrated by an Amravati-based sports organization “Hanuman Vyayam Prasarak Mandal” in the 1936 Berlin Olympics and raged the billions of hearts when it was introduced in 1938 in Indian Olympic Games in Calcutta. All India Kabaddi Federation was established in 1950 and standard rules were compiled while the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI) was founded in 1973 and then the first nationals were held in Madras. The AKFI has given a new shape to the rules and it has also the rights of modification in the rules. There is also a parent body to regulate the game at the international level known as the International Kabaddi Federation (IKF). In an international team version of Kabaddi, there are two teams each with seven members on the field and three supplementary players in reserve. The game is played in 20 minutes halves with 5 minutes break in a field having dimensions of 10 by 13 meters. The attacking player called “raider” enters into rival’s area of field and tags as many players possible in a time slot of 30 seconds. A point is scored by raiding team for each defender tagged while an additional point is scored if the raider can step into the area past the territory's bonus line. If the raider is successfully stopped, the opposing team gets a point instead. All players tagged are taken out of the game, but one is "revived" for each point a team scores from a subsequent tag or tackle (bonus points do not revive players). Players who step out of bounds are also considered out. Indian Kabaddi team at Asian Games One of the most known international arenas of Kabaddi “Asian Kabaddi Championship” was held for the first time in 1980 with India as the winner and Bangladesh as runner up. Bangladesh became runner-up again in 1985 in the Asian Kabaddi Championship held in Jaipur, India. The other teams in the tournament were Nepal, Malaysia, and Japan. The game was then included in the Asian Games in Beijing in 1990. China, Japan, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh were defeated and India won the gold medal and has also won gold at the following six Asian Games in Hiroshima in 1994, Bangkok in 1998, Busan in 2002, Doha in 2006 and Guangzhou in 2010. India won 7 gold medals out of a possible 8 until the 2006 SAF games. India women's national kabaddi team represents India in international women's kabaddi events and has bagged gold medals in three editions of Asian Games in 2010, 2014, and 2018 and also resulted as champion in South Asian Games in 2010. The victory of India in six out of seven Kabaddi World Cups (Circle Style) (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2020) and rising as champions in all 3 editions of Kabaddi World Cup (Standard Style) played till now asserts Indian dominance in the game. Indian Kabaddi team at Kabaddi World Cup The domestic competitions are also conducted by AKFI to promote the sport within the country. In 2019 the 66th Edition of the Kabaddi Senior Nationals was conducted in Roha , Raigad, with 31 teams competing. The other eminent national competitions organized in the country are Federation Cup, Telangana Premier Kabbadi League, Pro Kabaddi league. Pro Kabaddi League was launched in 2014 with Star Sports as its broadcasting Partner. The league has the participation of 12 teams with the team Patna Pirates as the most successful team and the team Bengal Warriors as the current champion. A glimpse from Pro Kabaddi League. Image Source:

©2020 by Sports4All.

Images from